Gamesa wins contract for Tata Power’s 100 MW wind farm in AP

Featured » National » Popular Post » Wind

Gamesa India has signed its first contract with Tata Power, one of the nation’s leading developers and independent power producers (IPP), for the construction of a 100-MW wind farm on a turnkey basis. As per the agreement, Gamesa will install 50 of its G97-2.0 MW class S turbines at the Nimbagallu wind farm, located in Andhra Pradesh. The wind farm’s commissioning is scheduled for May 2017.

With a tower height of 104 metres, this new turbine variant will be custom-designed for the low wind speed sites typical of India. Given the fact that it is a turnkey contract, Gamesa will handle all of the infrastructure needed to install and operate the project and will also provide the long-term operations and maintenance (O&M) services.

This agreement marks the start of the company’s business relationship with Tata Power, one of India’s leading energy companies – with a renewable energy portfolio of 1,380 MW.

“Having bagged several orders in the last two quarters, some new partnerships and other repeat projects, we are already on track towards achieving the wind targets for 2015 while continuing to maintain our market leadership,” said Ramesh Kymal, chairman and managing director, Gamesa India.

The new order reinforces Gamesa’s solid commercial positioning in India. According to Make Consulting, the company ended 2014 as the leading OEM in the country for the second year running, with a market share of 25 percent in 2014, compared to 21 percent in 2013.

Gamesa’s presence in India – as technology provider and wind farm developer – dates back to 2009. To date, it has installed close to 2,270 MW and services over 2,000 MW under O&M agreements. In addition, in its capacity as wind farm developer, it has developed 1,435 MW.

Source: Business Standard

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>